Who Am I: A Self Discovery Guided Meditation to Reveal Your Inner Truth

In this session, we explore the question “Who am I” by looking at separating the illusion from the truth and finding out who we really are.

You can view the full video on our YouTube channel here. Alternatively find the video at the end of this post!



I’ve come to realise a pattern in my meditation over the last two decades. This realisation is that there are two aspects of existence in life: one is the truth, and the other is the illusion. The truth arises out of consciousness, and being conscious. The illusion arises out of our unconsciousness.


As a meditator, I’ve realised that you can get carried away with the illusion or the truth. I’ve realised that both have to be lived at the same time. Sometimes we are unconscious, sometimes we are conscious.


But what is the starting point to live both the illusion and the truth? It is to witness them and step back, to understand and observe both of them playing and having a balance in your life, and just being a witness.


For today’s meditation, the starting point of that witnessing is with oneself. It is the question “Who am I?” We’re not concerned with the world around us, just with ourselves – asking “who am I”. For those on a journey of self-discovery, this session will have significant meaning.


So how do we approach this question? The key to answering this question is to separate the illusion from the truth, to understand who am I, and the key is, whatever is changing, whatever is not permanent is the illusion. Whatever remains constant or permanent is the truth.


There are five layers of our being. In today’s session, we’re going to go into these five layers and peel back each layer, in reaching from the illusion to the truth of who we are. I will explain each of the five layers in this video:

  • The Annamaya Kosha is the physical body – the layer of the physical body, the illusion of the physical body that we carry with us throughout our lives. The body constantly changes throughout our life, but we need to find what is not changing. Whatever is changing, is not you. And whatever is not changing, is you. This will be the first layer that we take our awareness to.


  • The Pranamaya Kosha is the second layer, our energy body. Prana means the energy. What is running in this body? Our breath, the life energy, taken from somewhere throughout our body and throughout our lives, in and out. A constant exchange of this energy between us and the outside world.


  • The Manomaya Kosha is the next layer that we will explore – the layer of the mind. The layer where you see all of your thoughts, imagination, projections. We’ll become a witness to that, and go one step deeper.


  • The Gyanmaya Kosha is one level deeper – the layer of knowledge – all of the knowledge that you carry in your being. Only when you’re silent and your awareness penetrates through the body do you realise that you’re nothing but a collection of the knowledge that you’ve carried throughout your life. Your knowledge also keeps on changing, it’s also not permanent.


  • The final layer is the bliss body, the Anandamaya Kosha. This is the fifth layer of your being, which can come into your awareness when you sit in meditation. This bliss body, sense of silence, of inner peace, which is a goal for so many spiritual traditions, but it’s not a goal – you have it in you. You have that inner peace always in you, all you need to do is go deep down into yourself and come into touch with this layer of your being.


Throughout this journey of witnessing these five layers, you will realise that there is something constant. These layers are always changing, but something remains constant in your deepest awareness. That is you, that is the truth, that is something that remains constant, permanent. It was never born, it will never die.


In this meditation, we are going to go layer by layer and allow ourselves to try to witness these layers one by one. We’ll go from the body, and go one level deeper to the pranic body, to the mind body, to the knowledge body, and finally to the bliss body.


Once we’ve gone through the witnessing of these five layers of your being, try to see whether you can recognise something that is not changing – can you come to something in you that has no name or definition, and is not changing. If you can come to that, stay there – stay in the silence and awareness of that.


I’ll guide you through each of these layers. When it comes to silence and going beyond these five layers, you’ll sit in silence for 5-10 minutes, remaining in tune with what is not changing, what is always there, what is permanent in you – the truth – and simply stay in that silence for some time.


Let’s begin.

Meditation Steps:

Here is the step-by-step process for this guided meditation:

  1. Close your eyes. Take a nice deep breath, inhale from the nose and exhale from the nose.
  2. Arrive in this moment here with me, to go into meditation.
  3. Allow your body to settle and your breath to settle into a nice rhythm.
  4. Keep your face relaxed, shoulders down, back straight and a posture that is comfortable for you.
  5. Bring your awareness to your body. Become aware of all of the parts of your body, your head, neck, shoulders, arms, chest and navel, your back, hips, legs. Give yourself a minute or so to settle your awareness in your body. Notice whatever comes naturally to you, as you remain aware of your body.
  6. Take this moment to realise that your body is changing, it’s never the same. Ask yourself, what is it that is not changing? “I’m aware of the body that is changing, and I’m also aware of what is not changing”.
  7. Feel the sensations in your body that happen with every inhalation and exhalation as you breathe in and breathe out the energy that is flowing in your body, the sensations that are flowing. Keep your awareness on the sensations as the breath moves in and out. Remain in awareness of these sensations and feel them changing as you breathe in and out. Direct your awareness to what’s not changing, and feel that sense of witness, of the observer, who remains constant.
  8. Observe the sensations, observe the observer.
  9. Go deeper and now observe your thoughts on your mind screen, thoughts coming and going. Simply observe them and allow your awareness to settle on this manomaya kosha – the layer of the mind. Don’t touch any thought, just observe. See how one part is coming and going and the next thought comes and goes. Observe all the movements of your mind. As you observe your mind, try to feel what is not changing. The mind keeps on moving, let it flow. Just simply observe.
  10. Go deeper into yourself. Realise everything that you know about yourself, all the knowledge. Take note of this layer of knowledge that you have about yourself. Also notice the sense of what remains, not changing, what has remained throughout this meditation. Observe the sense of awareness, and go deeper into yourself.
  11. Be in tune with your inner silence, stillness and peace in your heart. Allow yourself to tune into this peace, silence, and stillness that is there.
  12. Now fall deeper into this silence, let yourself go. Let yourself be absolutely still, silent and aware. Stay in this moment, the stillness and awareness. You are never changing, your awareness – silent, pure awareness.
  13. Now gently become aware of your breath flowing in and out as you very gently and softly, become aware of your body. Come back to the body, the sensations in your body, to your mind in this moment.
  14. When you’re feeling ready, very softly, you may open your eyes.


Enjoy this session,



Who Am I: A Self Discovery Guided Meditation to Reveal Your Inner Truth is the full video of a guided meditation session with Dhyanse in Basel, Switzerland held on 3 December 2018.


Prev 1 of 1 Next
Prev 1 of 1 Next

Related Posts